Flu Shot Rant

A man mid-sneeze. Original CDC caption: "...

A man mid-sneeze. Original CDC caption: "This 2009 photograph captured a sneeze in progress, revealing the plume of salivary droplets as they are expelled in a large cone-shaped array from this man’s open mouth, thereby dramatically illustrating the reason one needs to cover his/her mouth when coughing, or sneezing, in order to protect others from germ exposure." (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I started a new job in an operating room and recently attended the day long orientation. Part of the orientation was infection control and with that, the flu shot and how to prevent cross contamination.  I gleaned two important pieces of information that I would like to share. The most important being how to cover your mouth when coughing or sneezing. As a child I learned to always cover my mouth with my hand, if I sneezed or coughed and never gave it much thought, beyond that. Then I saw a Korean nurse I worked with, coughing into the sleeve of her shirt. All of a sudden, a light bulb went off for me. Then it was reinforced once again, in orientation. The virus lives on your hands and what you touch afterwards, ie- door knobs, phones, etc. But when you cough or sneeze into  your clothing, on your sleeve  for instance, it will trap the virus and it will die there. In my humble opinion, this is absolutely the single most important way to prevent spreading the virus from one person to another, in conjunction with hand washing. But ” the powers that be”, claim that the flu shot is the most important. So important, that they begin giving them to babies at 6 months of age and then yearly, for the rest of their lives. Are you serious?! I find this to be outrageous, as well as an insult to their immune system, each time it is received. I, for one, have never had the flu shot, nor the flu, but make it my business to keep my natural immune system as strong as possible through living a healthy lifestyle. Unfortunately for me, last month a federal vaccines panel voted in favor of enforcing mandatory flu shots in hospitals and clinics, since only 40% of the workers  were currently receiving them. They stated that if these facilities can’t get 90% of their employees to get an annual shot, they should “strongly consider” making the vaccines mandatory. When I raised my hand to question whether or not this hospital that I have started in, will be making it mandatory to its employees, I got a less than encouraging response. She said, ” We don”t like to use the M word, but we are working on a new policy that would require employees to get the flu shot, if they work here.” What sort of b–s— response was that?!  We don’t like to use the “M” word- are you kidding me?! Looks as though after over 30 years as a registered nurse, I may have to leave the profession. Hmmmmmmm………………

 

About daveagi

Dave has been in the health food industry for over 20 years and bodybuilding for 30 years. I (Agi), have been a registered nurse for over 25 years and former ballet dancer. We are both presently, Independent Mission Marketers for Beyond Organic. Our passions lie with GOD first, then teaching and helping others to become healthy through proper organic eating and a healthy lifestyle. We are happy to share our combined years of knowledge and experience in these areas to help others achieve optimum health.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

